Embodying the Bandhas

Enjoy this 3-minute video about "embodying" the bandhas in yoga.

Energizing the Core
Through the Diaphragms


AUGUST 15TH + 16TH, 2020   |   2 HOURS EACH DAY
START TIMES: 8am PDT (Los Angeles) / 11am EDT (New York) / 4pm GMT (London) / 5pm CET (Paris) / 1am AEST (Sydney)

 

Explore what it means to breathe in a whole new way. Expand your inner sensing and feeling of breath, and enjoy a completely new paradigm of diaphragmatic breathing with Patty Townsend.

Bandhas contain and direct prana. They encourage life-force to flow freely within our core bodies. Effective use of bandhas introduces us to and enhances the sensitivity of our subtle senses. We are invited to explore the inner world of prana.

Each of the three major bandhas relates to one or more of the core-body diaphragms. The bandhas follow the shapes and inherent movements of these diaphragms. When we tune in with sensitivity, bandhas are delightfully energizing and comfortable.

In this workshop we will explore the three primary bandhas: Mula Bandha, Udiyana Bandha and Jalandhara Bandha.

Mula Bandha organizes the pelvic diaphragm and contains our life force at the base. It stimulates prana to rise and to coalesce in the energetic hub of the low abdomen just above.

Udiyana Bandha, practiced on exhalation, follows the upward doming thoracic diaphragm to its completion, providing a still resting place for a yielding heart.

Jalandhara Bandha involves the vocal diaphragm in concert with the soft palate at the roof of the mouth. Jalandhara caps and contains the top as prana churns, balances, and enlivens below. Jalandhara keeps the brain cool and encourages the opening of the central channel, sushumna nadi.

Participants in this online workshop will:

  • Explore what it means to breathe in a new way.

  • Expand your inner sensing and feeling of breathing.

  • Learn to access subtle and effective inner movement.

  • Learn a new paradigm for diaphragmatic breathing.

  • Learn to breathe fully without strain.

Register Here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s